New Board Members and Aspiring Board Members

Two new members, Ashley Yan and Russell Keys, joined the Board in June.

Ashley is a registered electrical engineer with knowledge in power distribution, power transmission, and electrical machines. She is currently a Lecturer at Unitec Institute of Technology. Ashley brings to the board experience in health and safety, electrical testing compliance, renewable energy and bi-language skills. Ashley has a Masters in Engineering (major in electrical) and is a member of Engineering New Zealand and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Russell is a self-employed registered Electrical Inspector based in the Wairarapa where, with his wife, they own and operate their electrical contracting business currently employing a team of eight. Russell is currently the Carterton District Council Deputy Mayor and sits on the Audit and Risk Committee and is Deputy Chair of the Policy and Strategy Committee. He is also a volunteer Fire Fighter in the Carterton Brigade with over 20 years’ service.

The Board has recently initiated an Aspiring Board Members pilot programme. The programme is aimed at providing governance and tribunal experience to younger electrical workers who have shown Board Member potential. The initial pilot involves two electrical workers; Harmony Court, an Electrician from Auckland and Justan Clark, an Electrical Inspector from Wellington. If successful, the programme will be extended.